E-Book Reader Solution for iPhone/iPad – Stanza + Calibre

8 Mar

This post is relevant to iPhone and iPad users who would like to read books on their devices

Yesterday I installed Stanza from Lexcycle (http://www.lexcycle.com/) a very lightwight and robust e-book reader for the iPhone. It supports formats like pdf/html/epub, epub being the most popular

lexcyclesiteheader.png

When combined with Calibre (http://calibre-ebook.com/) this becomes your hub for e-book exchange with your PC. You can always download the epub format books from various sources and get them loaded to your iPhone/iPad in like 5 minutes OR you can buy them from countless sources on the net

The interface and bookmarking feature is very clean and Stanza loads books with sizes more than 10MB without any issues.

App has a night feature too, bookmarks multiple books at a time,has font increase/decrease feature plus rotation lock. Pretty much you would want in an e-book reader for your iPhone

In contrast, I also tried some other apps like Bookshelf (which crashed when loaded books with size more than 1.5 MB) and Kobo (not free at all)

For book overs, try this out

3 Responses to “E-Book Reader Solution for iPhone/iPad – Stanza + Calibre”

  1. monsoon June 23, 2011 at 6:15 am #

    I’m looking for an e-reader that lets me share my bookmark across several devices. Our household has several iphones/ipads and late at night as I go to bed I grab the first one I can find to continue reading my book. Problem is I have to then spend a few minute trying to work out where I am up to as I was reading on another device the night before.

  2. how to grow a beard July 5, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

    It’s best to allow 4 – 6 weeks of growth before attempting to shape the beard. Make up- One of the most essential beauty must do’s is to use make up to subtly highlight your most beautiful features.

    We walked out into the night, carousing, drinking,
    finding nothing to do and something to do at the same time and drinking ourselves into an oblivion that would last hopefully the whole night
    and who knows maybe into tomorrow with little men in green
    tights dancing around in our heads (come to think of it that’s not such a happy thought at the moment; it really begs the question as to why we think of little men in green tights, that’s not insulting at all,
    no we only make them look hideous and at the same time jolly and
    high pitched-probably a result of the tights being too tight (which might actually be what made
    the leprechaun in the movie “Leprechaun” so evil and angry-I mean if he just wore some looser fitting pants
    he might have been a little nicer and not so homicidal) but I could be wrong about the high pitched
    stuff maybe it’s because they’re so small and cute-except
    for the evil one in the movie-and just because they’re small and cute and have awesome beards-seriously the beards on those guys are ridiculously cool, all thick and stuff and they never seem to be itchy if you ever noticed that-doesn’t mean those
    rich girls with tiny purses(and what is the purpose of those things, they are so small they’re almost a wallet, at least guys are embarrassed enough of shoulder bags to call them man-purses but these girls are walking around with wallets attached to straps and calling them a purse, I could fit more in a pencil bag-those little canvas things they used to sell at Old Navy when I was about seven-but these girls who think they are so sexy with those things don’t realize that the purse is better as a joke than a thing to carry
    their toothpaste around and that’s when they’re not carrying those itty bitty, ankle biting, yip yipping, meaningless, and useless, Chihuahuas or in this case a Leprechaun
    who would probably have to suffer some bedazzled Versace top hat or something like it that probably costs more than I make in a year at this point),
    but I digress and will return eventually, I just wanted you
    to know I knew I was digressing, or not maybe because I am still talking about leprechauns
    and that was what I started with in this larger digression about leprechauns dancing in my
    head being a little too weird at this point because I’m not drunk enough) well maybe not dancing just yet, I need more to drink before I can see that and not feel weird that I’m not walking away as fast as possible and
    all this will be rectified very soon as my friends and I greet a new bar full of new friends
    we have not met yet but will definitely meet soon. The Windsor Star, Women
    swoon over men with stubble, study finds Canada. (No, I have not had to check myself into a clinic for bearded
    iris killers. Sexually mature males will darken their beards to black and bob their heads and stamp their feet to indicate their interest
    in breeding.

  3. spanish fly September 21, 2014 at 4:00 am #

    Howdy would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re using?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different browsers and I must
    say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a reasonable
    price? Thank you, I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

